2018 Recipients

WIA congratulates the Australian Wool Industry Medal 2018 recipients.

Jim Marler, Wool Metrology and Standards

Jim’s nomination was supported by Australian and international referees.

  • 49 years of service to the wool industry
  • Expertise in metrology and standards is recognised globally
  • Former CSIRO (1968-86) and National Technical Manager, AWTA (1986-2008)
  • Architect of IWTO-0 which is the test method for developing test methods
  • Actively involved in Interwool Labs (1993-2016) as President (2005-16). Jim’s involvement continued in retirement
  • IWTO Raw Wool Group Deputy Chair and Chair (1990-98)
  • A significant author and co-author of reports and submissions to IWTO
  • Jim is recognised for his ability to translate highly technical documents into layman language
  • Jim’s opinion and advice is respected by his peers


     Jim Marler.jpg

Trevor James, Wool Broking and Services

  • Trevor has 50+ years of service in the wool industry
  • Landmark South Australian Wool Manager (1985-2010)
  • Landmark Victorian Wool Manager (2007-08)
  • Interim Landmark National Wool Manager (2008)
  • South Australian Director of NCWSBA (1992-98 and 2007)
  • Contribution to judging at regional, metro and national shows for over 40+ years
  • Contribution and mentoring junior judges for 30+ years
  • Recognised as an acute judge of wool and highly talented auctioneer
  • Recognised for his unwavering, ‘never say no’ service to clients
  • Junior judge at Adelaide Show for past 18 years growing interest in the competition from 8 to 88 in 2018
  • Judged at three National junior competitions


     Trevor James LMK

Stephanie Brooker-Jones, Broking, Shearing and Wool Handler Services

  • Actively and enthusiastically involved in the industry for 40 years
  • Wool Classer through SA/VIC/NSW/QLD (1979-1994)
  • Wool Buyer (1999-2004)
  • District Wool Manager, Elders (2004-current)
  • One of the first female district wool managers in South Australia
  • Voluntary contribution to training and encouraging young people into the wool industry
  • Executive Member and Chair of Sports Shear Australia Association (2013-16)
  • Recognised for her involvement in shearing and wool handling competitions at a state and national level
  • Mentor to young women entering the wool industry


Stephanie Brooker-Jones

Thomas Ashby, Merino Sheep Breeding and Services

  • The Ashby name is well recognised and respected in the merino sheep industry
  • Co-principal of North Ashrose Merino and Poll Merino Stud
  • President of the World Federation of Merino Breeders (2014-18)
  • President of the South Australian Merino Sheep Breeders Association (2005-06) and Committee Member (1994-2006), Life Member (2013)
  • President of the Australian Association of Stud Merino Breeders (2006-12)
  • Respected sheep judge in Australia and internationally
  • Supporter, contributor and successful exhibitor at Australian regional/national shows
  • Implemented the Breeding Leadership Program (2002)
  • WoolPoll Panel Member (2009 and 2012)
  • Inaugural President of the South Australian Young Merino Breeders (1986-88)


Thomas Ashby

David Rowbottom, Ultrafine Wool Breeding and Conservation

  • A leader in the ultrafine wool and sheep industry
  • An influential breeder of ultrafine genetics to the industry
  • Made a commitment to stop mulesing on his property nearly 4 decades ago (1979)
  • Conservationist:
    • As a contribution to the Basalt to Bay Landcare Group, land has been set aside on his property to support and protect the endangered Southern Brown Bandicoot
    • A member of the local Landcare Committee, VFF, CFA and ASWGA
  • International Ermenegildo Zegna, Vellus Aureum fleece awards:
    • 1st – 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 – the 2016 winning fleece a record breaking 9.9 micron
    • 2nd – 2012, 2013, 2014 & 2018
    • 3rd – 2016
  • Holder of several Australian seasonal records for prices of wool sold by auction
  • Nominated for 2015 Glenelg Hopkins Environmental Achievers award
  • Nominated for 2018 Moyne Shire Environmental Sustainability award
David Rowbottom