WIA News

The Federation of Australian Wool Organisations Inc. (FAWO) this evening announced the inaugural recipients of the Australian Wool Industry Medal. The Medal recognises men and women who have made an exceptional and sustained contribution to the Australian wool industry.

The recipients are:

  • Ms Nan Allison, VIC
  • Mr Robert Carter, WA
  • Mr Rod Franklyn, VIC
  • Mr Athol Frederick, VIC
  • Ms Sally Martin, NSW
  • Mr Wal Merriman, NSW
  • Dr Peter Morgan, VIC
  • Mr Geoff Power, SA
  • Mr Robert Ryan OAM, NSW
  • Mr Barry Walker OAM, NSW
  • Mr David Ward OAM, VIC

2017 Medal Recipients – Full Details

Nominations for the 2018 Medal are now open.

Mr David Michell, Chairman Elect of FAWO, congratulated the recipients on their awards and thanked them for their contribution to the Australian wool industry.

Mr Michell said “These men and women have made a significant contribution to Australia’s wool industry over many years. They come from a range of sectors within the industry, from farming, to broking, to trading and exporting to service sectors. Their contributions have been diverse, ranging from administrative support to being industry leaders, from regional to national and international levels. I congratulate them all on receiving the Australian Wool Industry Medal in recognition of their service and contribution”.

“It is very timely that we acknowledge and celebrate the contributions of these outstanding people to this iconic Australian industry. Wool prices are now at record levels and optimism for both wool and sheep is high. The industry has faced difficult times over the past 3 decades and the contributions that these people have made has ensured that many in the industry can enjoy these more prosperous times.”

Recipients were presented with their Medals at the National “Wool Week” Industry Dinner at Aerial, Melbourne on 24th August. Two recipients were unable to be present and will receive their Medals in a private ceremony in their home state.

The Federation of Australian Wool Organisation is the peak body for the Australian wool industry. Members include: Australian Council of Wool Exporters and Processors, Australian Wool Exchange, Australian Wool Handlers, Australian Wool Innovation, Australian Wool Testing Authority, The National Council of Wool Selling Brokers of Australia, and WoolProducers Australia.

FAWO is now accepting nominations for 2018. The 2018 nomination form is available at www.fawo.org.au/awards. Closing date is 1 May 2018.


Media Contact:
Mrs Bianca Heaney
Phone: (03) 9311 0103
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.