WIA News

Australian Wool Industry Medal 2018 - Media Release PDF

2018 Australian Wool Industry Medal
Nominations close COB 1st May 2018
The Federation of Australian Wool Organisations Inc. (FAWO) is calling for nominations
for the 2018 Australian Wool Industry Medal.
The Australian Wool Industry Medal (AWIM) recognises men and women who have made an
exceptional and sustained contribution to the Australian wool industry. The medal was first
introduced in 2017 where 11 recipients from across Australia and representing all facets of the
wool industry were recognized.
FAWO Chairman, Mr David Michell said “The Australian Wool Industry Medal is a positive
initiative for the wool industry as it will bring forward nominations of people from a diverse
range of backgrounds”.
Mr Michell said “We are a proud industry and to be able to celebrate the success of the men
and women who have helped shape this $3.5 billion industry by making a real difference
through their dedication, pursuit of excellence and achievement is important.”
The hard work by all those across the Australian Wool Industry contributes not only to
individual businesses but flows out to our communities and other industries.
Mr Michell said “We all know people in the industry who we admire and look up to for their
energy, contribution and impact they have on our industry.”
Individuals, community organisations, professional bodies and those across the wool industry
are encouraged to nominate extraordinary people from producing to shearing, from
education to science, from wool classing to fashion for consideration for these awards.
Categories of eligible nominees include, but are not limited to: Wool Growers, Brokers,
Shearers, Wool Classers, Researchers, Buyers, Educators and those engaged in Marketing
and Industry Services to name a few. Further information and a nomination form can be
downloaded from www.fawo.org.au
The announcement of the 2018 Australian Wool Industry Medal recipient(s) takes place at a
special presentation at the National “Wool Week” dinner on 23 August 2018 at the
Melbourne Cr icket Ground in Melbourne said Mr Michell.
“The Australian wool industry is the world’s largest and is recognized globally as the
leader in fibre quality, professional standards and research excellence. This award will
enhance the profile of an industry steeped in history and achievement.”
Nominations for the 2018 Australian Wool Industry Medal are now open and close COB 1st May
The Australian Wool Industry Medal is fully supported by FAWO and its Members.
Federation of Australian Wool Organisation members: Australian Council of Wool Exporters
and Processors, Australian Wool Exchange, Australian Wool Handlers, Australian Wool
Innovation, Australian Wool Testing Authority, The National Council of Wool Selling Brokers
of Australia, and WoolProducers Australia.
Media Contact: Mrs Bianca Heaney (03) 9311 0103 or email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.