WIA News

Wool Industries Australia Inc. (WIA) congratulates six recipients of the Australian Wool Industry Medal. Now in its fifth year, the presentations were planned for Wool Week in August 2021 but due to the COVID lockdowns, WIA was not able to make the 2020 and 2021 presentations. Five recipients were chosen to receive the 2020 Australian Wool Industry Medal. Two of which were presented last year, Richard Halliday and Kevin Gellatly. The remaining three Andrew Blanch (NSW), John Gray (NSW) and Robert Couchman (VIC) were presented with their Medal and Certificate today along with the three 2021 recipients Ken Dyson (WA), Ken Stock (VIC) and John Lewis (VIC). The presentations were made State by State.
The Medal recognises men and women who have made an exceptional and sustained contribution to the Australian wool industry.
Mr David Michell, Chairman WIA, congratulated Andrew Blanch, John Gray, Robert Couchman, Ken Dyson, Ken Stock and John Lewis on their award and thanked them for their contribution to the Australian wool industry.
“Unfortunately, due to the impact of COVID-19 with restrictions in all states and regions, WIA made the decision to cancel the presentation in August. It was hoped that we could gather as an industry to celebrate with all the six recipients. This hasn’t been the case and the decision was made to recognize the recipients in their home state”.
Mr Michell said “It is very timely that we acknowledge and celebrate the contribution of outstanding people to this iconic Australian industry. It has been a tough two years for all. The industry has faced many difficult times over the past 3 decades and the contributions that people like our recipients today have made has ensured that many in the industry can enjoy and prosper in the future.”
“Three events were coordinated today at each state wool selling centre and attended by many colleagues in the wool industry and family members and another separate event in the city of Melbourne”.
Wool Industries Australia is the peak body for the Australian wool industry. Members include: Australian Council of Wool Exporters and Processors, Australian Wool Exchange, AWH Pty Ltd, Australian Wool Innovation, Australian Wool Testing Authority, The National Council of Wool Selling Brokers of Australia, and WoolProducers Australia.
Further information on events can be found on the website www.fawo.org.au
Applications for the 2022 Australian Wool Industry Medal will open early in 2022.
Media Contact: Mrs Bianca Heaney email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.